Nicholas Susi

  • 20 March, 2022   (3:00 pm)

Artist Info
Nicholas Susi, piano


A Deal with the Devil
The struggle between good and evil has been an artistic subject since time immemorial. Sacred music has a long and celebrated history in the Christian tradition, yet music that centers on the devil appears infrequently until the nineteenth century. Inspired in large part by Goethe’s Faust, European musicians from this time onward exhibit a growing fascination with what it means to encounter the devil. In this solo piano recital, Nicholas Susi performs music that revels in the darker side of the good versus evil narrative. Listeners will hear music by Liszt, Coleridge-Taylor, Scriabin, and Ligeti that reflects the devil’s many sides: magical, cunning, perfidious, frightening, tempting, seductive, and malevolent.

Piano etude no. 10, “Der Zauberlehrling”
Gy rgy Ligeti (1923-2006)

Piano Sonata no. 9 “Black Mass”
Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915)

Forest Scenes, op. 66
III. The Phantom Tells his Tale of Longing
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)

Mephisto Waltz no. 1
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)


Piano Sonata in B minor
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Anthony Beer Anthony Beer, Artistic Director

PO Box 347, 720 South Main Street, Middlebury, IN 46540

General Inquiries:   574-825-2585

Artistic Director:   574-292-2038