Shihyun Lee

Shihyun Lee

Born in South Korea in 1991, pianist Shihyun Lee was awarded 3rd Prize and special Prize for the contemporary music in the International Telekom Piano Competition Bonn 2019. In 2018 she also awarded First Prize in the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Competition Berlin (the competition, where all German Universities can send only their two best representatives every four years for piano to compete) as well as the Special Prize for her interpretation of the commissioned work (by Kit Armstrong). She gained extensive experience as a soloist with various orchestras in her homeland and made her debut with the Berliner Konzerthausorchester in Mendelssohn’s First Piano Concerto at the Konzerthaus Berlin, where she gave her solo recital debut as well in 2019 with a stunning “Hammerklavier-Sonata” op. 106 of Beethoven. Shihyun Lee focuses primarily on German nineteenth-century repertoire and dedicates herself as a soloist to various forms of chamber music.

Shihyun Lee obtained her bachelor’s degree as a scholarship student at Seoul National University with Prof. Hie-Yon Choi and Mrs. Jinson Kim. She has been a student of Prof. Markus Groh at the Universität der Künste Berlin(University of Arts Berlin) since 2014, in which capacity her playing and an interview was broadcast live by rbb Kulturradio Deutschland in a special programme dedicated to conservatory graduates.

Shihyun Lee has been supported in her studies with a scholarship by the Ad Infinitum Foundation and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) since 2017. In 2010 she won First Prize in the Beethoven Competition Seoul and Third Prize in the Chopin Competition Seoul in the following year. In 2017, she was awarded a second prize at the Artur Schnabel Competition in Berlin (no first prize was given that year).

Key Performance

  • 2019 International Telekom Beethoven Competition Bonn
  • F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy – Sonata No. 3 in B major, Op. 106 | L. v. Beethoven – Sonata No. 29 in B flat major, Op. 106 (“Hammerklavier”)
  • L. v. Beethoven – Sonata No. 6 in F major, Op. 10/2 | P. Hindemith – Sonata No. 3 in B flat major
  • 2018 Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Competition
  • F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy – Piano Concerto No. 1 in g minor Op. 25

Anthony Beer Anthony Beer, Artistic Director

PO Box 347, 720 South Main Street, Middlebury, IN 46540

General Inquiries:   574-825-2585

Artistic Director:   574-292-2038